Wait Upon the Lord

“Wait upon the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait upon the Lord.” Psalm 27:14

This verse has been following me, and apparently I just can’t take the hint.

The first time it happened was right before Thanksgiving.  Literally I saw this verse everywhere I turned.  I came across it in my quiet time, other people mentioned it, tweeted it, and blogged about it; I saw written prettily on items in stores, and even found it on a book mark.  So I decided to actually try and wait upon the Lord.  I decided to try and stop obsessing about all the life decisions that seemed so daunting, and trust that the Lord had a plan in his timing.   This past Thanksgiving break was a wonderful gift of peace and rest as I tried to live out Psalm 27:14.

However, by the time I came home for Christmas break I had worked myself back up into a frenzy by trying to figure everything out in day.  Overwhelmed and feeling like I needed answers right then and there, I began to stumble across Psalm 27:14 again.  This time I felt convicted and humbled.  I felt both silly for needing the reminder and incredibly cared for.   For me this seemed like another sweet reminder from God saying again, “let me take care of you, I have plans for you” and a little stronger message, “you MUST wait and rely on Me.”  I wish I could say I was surprised I tried to put myself in control again, but I wasn’t.  Reminders that encourage trusting in the Lord once again surrounded me, and again I submitted my will and my plans to the Lord.  By grace I was able to enjoy my winter as anxiety dissipated and I endeavored to once again wait upon the Lord.

Yet here I am again, humbled by grace – surrounded by a message to wait upon the Lord.  Again I’m submitting my will, my plans, and my anxiety about the future to my heavenly Father, because I know my life is so much better in His hands.  Here I am again needing Christ, needing His peace, and letting go of my desire to understand everything now.  Instead I’m focused on the blessings I get to enjoy every day.  My future is in the hands of the creator, and that is nothing short of Joy.  I’m listening, trying to obey, and praying for patience.  This phase in life is daunting and full of changes; but even though it feels messy, and even though I keep trying (and failing) to be the one that cleans it up – my faith, my hope, my rest, and my tomorrows are secure and protected in Christ.

Leave a comment

Filed under My Life

Leave a Reply

