Let Him do His work.

Isaiah 55:8-13

8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. 9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. 10 As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, 11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it. 12 You will go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and hills will burst into song before you, and all the trees of the field will clap their hands. 13 Instead of the thornbush will grow the pine tree, and instead of briers the myrtle will grow. This will be for the Lord’s renown, for an everlasting sign, which will not be destroyed.”

I’ve been reading through these verses both last night, and this morning.  The first time I read them I was overcome with relief with the idea that through God (and only God) is His work done.  What he sends out, achieves the purpose that He wanted for it.  It is not up to me (thank goodness!).  This should have been an easy concept; like “Duh God uses His word for His purpose” “Duh Kelli, it’s not about you or up to you”, but really applying that to my own life has been difficult.  If I talk to someone, or share with someone what God has shown me, or attempt to help someone I often feel a need to micromanage what happens next  in that persons life, like God can’t take care of it. For me this is a major control issue, and here I feel like God is gently and sweetly saying to me, “Let Me do it, My way is better, My way brings peace and joy,” and yet as I pray for my friends or for my own life I want to control the way God’s word is used.  It is exhausting, and when talking to others about the Lord’s truths it is impossible and tiring to try to remain in charge and make sure they are hearing (what I think) they should hear – God has better message, only God knows the heart and inner workings of each and every person and I’m so glad it is not up to me.

Control seems to be nothing but arrogance (like God actually needs my help?!) but I am so thankful and humbled by the idea that He still uses me, that occasionally He still lets me be His vessel.  I love the way this passage begins, “My thoughts are not your thoughts, My ways are not your ways,” Hallelujah! I am so glad for this, I am so glad His ways are above my comprehension, and I am so glad that His work is done according to His purpose and not mine.  These verses have inspired in me both conviction and joy.  I must lay down my control and rely on His; His purpose, His thoughts, His ways.  The very idea of that brings me great joy.

1 Comment

Filed under My Life

One response to “Let Him do His work.

  1. Patricia Dumm

    Kelli – So True. This really ministers to me. Grandma Patty

    Like

Leave a Reply

