Jehovah-Jireh

Throughout the Bible the Lord is given many names, but the name that has been on my heart the past couple of weeks has been Jehovah-Jireh, translated literally “the Lord sees” but usually written as “the Lord provides” or “the Lord will provide”.  The name comes from Genesis 22 when the Lord asks Abraham to sacrifice his son.  When God saved Abraham’s son, Abraham praised Jehovah-Jireh because the Lord had seen to all of his needs.  The Lord saw what he needed and was able to provide for him because Abraham placed all of his trust in the Lord.  This is a story I have been familiar with since sunday school, but reading it now has brought much deeper significance.  Do I trust God enough to let Him work in my life?  Do I have that kind of trust that the Lord will see and meet all of my needs; needs I may not even be aware of?  He is Jehovah-Jireh; he sees all of our needs, and he provides.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Jehovah-Jireh

  1. Patricia Dumm

    You can’t know how much this ministers to me today. Love you! Grandma Patty

    Like

Leave a Reply

