My Favorite.

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

I don’t remember how I first stumbled across this verse, but it’s one of the few I have had memorized for the majority of my life.  It’s probably the first verse I memorized on my own, reference and all, outside of sunday school.  It’s been a verse that I’ve turned to on countless occasions when looking for reassurance, or peace, or to calm anxiety and fear.  “Do not fear” you can’t  get more straightforward than that.  This message is prevalent throughout the Bible, but this is the verse  I have always turned to.  However it wasn’t until recently while reading Beth Moore’s book, So Long Insecurity, that I really read the verse that directly proceeds it…

I took you from the ends of the earth, from the farthest corners I called you.  I said, ‘You are My servant’; I have chosen you and have not rejected you. Isaiah 41:9

For me this was a very special moment.  An equally momentous verse right in front of my favorite.  How long I have been reading Isaiah 41 and how long did I skim verse 9 without taking the time to attempt to grasp what it says.  He calls us, He chooses us, He never rejects us; and after all that He promises to strengthen and help us.  To fully bask in what it means to be chosen by God was a beautiful experience; a very special moment.  In a world where rejection and fear are far too common, these verses speak out against that darkness for the love and provision of the Lord.  For me it is a message of belonging, of being chosen, and of being upheld (and held) by God himself. I love it!

Leave a comment

Filed under My Life

Leave a Reply

