bought at a price

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body”. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

This scripture has been on my heart for the last few weeks, so I thought it was time to share. I think these verses say it all; you are not your own. I belong so completely to the one who created me, my body is not my own. I love that I belong so fully to the Lord, he bought me with the price of His only son; that is love. I belong fully and completely to the one who loves me, and I want to live a life that honors that commitment. I want to respect the price He paid for me; and so I will choose to honor God with my body. 1 Corinthians speaks clearly on sexual immorality and even says that sexual sin is sin against your body; sin against the temple of the Holy Spirit. I believe this is true, I believe that sin against your body requires the healing of your body. I believe in grace and forgiveness, and in the realm of sexual sin I believe in complete healing and restoration – and I’m so thankful He freely offers this.

Purity is precious. It is something to be valued and something to take care of, and cherish as you cherish yourself – the temple of the Holy Spirit. The scripture above is one of my favorites because it resonates in my heart and mind. You were bought at a price – how amazing is that?! I love it. The Lord God took action and bought each and every one of us with a price. It cost Him something precious, so that we could belong to Him; it’s my thankfulness for this gift that pushes me to live a life of purity and integrity. I love the way I belong to Him. That’s happiness, that’s joy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

