Adult Decisions

I got to spend this past weekend with a couple of my closest friends from college.  We spent one evening talking about the trials, confusions, and frustrations that were so commonplace over this past year of transitions. The conversation began something like this, “So, I’ve been making adult decisions, and it’s really hard…” to which, we all immediately sympathized, “Yes, yes it is.”

This time last fall we had recently graduated college and were all starting new ventures; new jobs, new schools, new internships, etc.  Everything was changing, but at this point we had no idea how hard the next year was going to be.  So here I am, luckily with some good friends at my side, and we have made it through the year after college.  Many times it seemed like we were barely making it, and often it seemed like we would not make it, but we did, even though it was really hard.

The thing about these so-called “adult” decisions is that they require more patience, more trust, and more love than those decisions we were making during, and right out of college.  They have required us to deeply rely on Him, wait for His timing, and fully trust that He was working everything together for our good even when we didn’t think we could get through the day – nonetheless make it to this day roughly a year later.  Yes, we are still in the midst of new possibilities, new jobs, and new places, but the difference is the way our relationship with Him has changed us.  I have watched not only myself, but also several of my close friends reach that point where you have to put it ALL in His hands, or we just wouldn’t make it.  I am so glad we got there.  Adult decisions require an adult relationship with Him, and that relationship is transforming us.  We are growing up, and we still have so much more to learn, but I am grateful for how far we’ve come this last year.  I am grateful that not only can we look back and see how He helped us, but that we can look at where we are and see how He provided.  We have fallen more in love with Him as we learn to seek maturity from the Father, and not from what the world would tell us to do.

This verse was recently passed along to me, “You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.” Psalm 16:11.

His presence is what brings joy; the joy that comes from doing life with Him, from needing to do life with Him.  He provides the pathway of life as we wait upon Him.  “Adult” life is brimming with a need for patience that I have never experienced before, and even though we still find ourselves waiting, and even though our lives still seem to be in flux; there is peace as we have come closer to Him, and knowing He will provide, that He wants to provide. It is from this point that we begin to make our adult decisions.

2 Comments

Filed under My Life

2 responses to “Adult Decisions

  1. Aunt Diane

    I would like to say that those decisions come easier the older you get. Unfortunately I cannot. I still find myself needing Him, needing patience, needing joy – even at 43 – only now it’s not just myself I have to consider, but my family as well. You’re doing a great job, Kelli! Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

