how’s your spirit?

Proverbs 18:14

The Message “A healthy spirit conquers adversity, 
but what can you do when the spirit is crushed?”

NIV “A man’s spirit sustains him in sickness, 
but a crushed spirit who can bear?”

Romans 12:1 NIV “Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God–this is your spiritual act of worship.”

Luke 1:46-47 NIV And Mary said: 
“My soul glorifies the Lord and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior”

2 Timothy 4:21 NIV “The Lord be with your spirit. Grace be with you.”

We spend so much time making sure our bodies are healthy and place so much focus on fostering our soul’s longing for Christ, but lately I see that our sweet, God given spirits become neglected.  I’m not saying that we shouldn’t take care of our mind, body, and soul; I’m just saying that I think we often forget to minister to our spirit, or we don’t realize how important a healthy spirit is.

I’ve had the privilege to spend this week with a group of wonderful pastors, counselors, and God-fearing people who are taking an active stance in spiritual warfare and kingdom living.  It’s been such a blessing.  One of the things we’ve been talking about is taking care of your spirit; blessing your spirit.  I think it becomes evident in scripture that your spirit is a precious entity that needs attention.  Often scripture alludes to both the soul and spirit; I don’t think it’s just flowery language but rather it’s two separate parts that both need nourishment.

What I’ve learned this week is that it’s as simple as asking your spirit if it’s ok, asking your spirit if it is being bound, or needs healing, and letting God show you how to heal it.  In my experience if God shows you what’s hurting He will show you the way back to joy.  I think that it’s a process, another part of the journey.  I’m still learning and letting the Father teach me. But for me, starting this journey of connecting with my God-given spirit and finding out what hurts it, what has “crushed” it (Proverbs 18:14); in one evening it has already made a difference.

A precious friend shared these books with my mother and I this week, and when it comes time to minister to your spirit these prayers and scriptures are uplifting and helpful; however I think that along the way many of our spirits need to be knit back together, to forgive what has “crushed” them, and allow God to heal them. From there we continue to nourish and strengthen our spirits through the truth, which is the Word.

Blessing Your Spirit by: Sylvia Gunter & Arthur Burk

You are blessed in the names of God by: Sylvia Gunter

Leave a comment

Filed under My Life, scripture

Leave a Reply

