good fruit.

We spend a lot of time stuffing emotions that they are ashamed of.  Whether it’s feelings of jealousy, resentment, hate, or anything under the sun that contradicts the teachings of Christ, we often try to deal with them the same way.  What I see is that people are trying to cover up these negative emotions, or try to pretend that’s not what they really feel.  We become ashamed of them, and try to pile good emotions on top of them.  It doesn’t matter how much good fruit you pile on top of the rot, its still there, and it still stinks.  Instead it becomes a constant internal battle of trying to cover up the feelings that we know are not of Christ.  It happens all the time, and I don’t know anyone, myself included, who has not tried this method of dealing with negative emotions and feelings.

It seems that the gut reaction is to stuff those feelings that make us feel embarrassed or ashamed when we should be dealing with them.  If there’s a person in your life that is triggering jealousy and you end up feeling resentment or anger towards that person, the reaction I see most often is to try to cover it up.  You know you shouldn’t feel that way so you begin forcing yourself to move past it by layering emotions that seem right or acceptable on top of it.  That may work for a while, but it doesn’t solve the problem.  You have to deal with what’s causing the negative emotions.  You have to deal with root of the problem.

When looking at myself, I find that I often don’t want to be that vulnerable, even with God.  I don’t want to look that closely and see those things about myself that aren’t so pretty.  I just don’t want to admit that all that negative stuff is there, but it’s the only way to get it out.  To admit that I’m jealous, resentful, or angry is the only way to start to get rid of it.  Those are not the things that I want to take root in my life, the fruit that those things produce is not pleasant, and is not constructive to the plans that God has for me, and so to move forward I have to address it and lay it down.  I must understand what’s causing it and how to move past it.  Luckily we are never alone in this process.

I really and truly believe that God wants us to be totally healed from the all past hurts and all negative emotions and fallout that have taken root in our lives.  He is right there beside as we deal with those difficult emotions, and He’s right there to take them from us as we roll them onto the cross.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law. And they that are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with the affections and lusts. If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit. Let us not be desirous of vain glory, provoking one another, envying one another. Galatians 5:22-26

Leave a comment

Filed under My Life, scripture

Leave a Reply

