a work of his hands

I have recently felt so overwhelmed and comforted by the fact that I am a work of His hands.  How blessed we are to be created by God, and to continually be shaped by Him everyday of our lives. He created us intentionally for a specific purpose with specific gifts, strengths, and weaknesses. I am finding comfort in the fact that He is so intimately aware of my weakness.

There is something so sweet about the idea that He knows me in my weakness. After all, it is through our weakness that His strength and power are seen; it is when I am weak that He is made strong. He does not rely on me to accomplish His work, but I am so lucky that God created me with specific strengths and weaknesses so that I can better serve Him. It seems to me that in my weakness I have an opportunity to let Him be God in my life. In my weakness I can choose to obey and honor God.

“But now, O Lord, You are our Father, We are the clay, and You our potter; And all of us are the work of Your hand.” Isaiah 64:8

We are works of His hands. How beautiful. How freeing it is to know that He molds us and shapes us so that we can add to His glory, and bring glory to His name. Even in our weakness there is a chance to bring Him glory. I love that.

“For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

He created us!! I am a product of His wisdom and His design. How awesome! How amazing that our God thought us out according to His purpose.

Thus says the LORD, your Redeemer, and the one who formed you from the womb,
“I, the LORD, am the maker of all things,
Stretching out the heavens by Myself
And spreading out the earth all alone…

Isaiah 44:24

Leave a comment

Filed under My Life, scripture

Leave a Reply

