on happiness.

Happiness.

So I’ve been talking about happiness a lot lately…at work, after work, with friends, with strangers. It just keeps coming up. What has been most surprising is that people seem to be so unaware of the joy that surrounds them; myself included.

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Philippians 4:8

I have written on this before, but in this last week it has been so been on my heart. I see people every day who do not know what happy is. They do not know how to look for joy, and it has me wondering, why is this so hard? We tend to look past the joy and the grace that God provides and focus on the negative – on the doubt and the fear. I’m not writing about this because I have it all figured out, but because my heart aches at how easily we become focused on the negative.

I understand that Satan wants to cloud our view of the good in our lives, that he would seek any way to destroy the joy that God has provided. When we allow our selves to be overwhelmed and stuck in the negative we allow our hearts to be turned from the Lord.

This happens to me far to easily. I am often a worrier and a perfectionist and in those moments it is too easy to turn away from the happiness and the provisions the Lord has provided for me in each and every day. It seems that I slowly slip away from what I know is true, His truth.  But in his truth there is freedom, life, and joy in its purest form.

Enjoying Cabo

This is the JOY I want. This is the joy I want to be aware of. This is the joy I want to seek out and know each and every day. I think to know this JOY is to be more aware of Christ in my life. To see his work in my day differently. To allow myself to be present with him and allow myself the happiness that he provides. This week, I am challenging myself to be aware of what God is doing around me, to see Him in the little things and in the big. To choose JOY and to choose to think on those things that are lovely, and right, and good.

Leave a comment

Filed under My Life

Leave a Reply

